VA recognizes CSRA-area volunteers at annual awards ceremony - Charlie Norwood VA Medical Center
Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Charlie Norwood VA Medical Center


VA recognizes CSRA-area volunteers at annual awards ceremony

April 25, 2017

AUGUSTA, Ga. – Charlie Norwood VA Medical Center honored its volunteers from across the CSRA in a ceremony April 19 at the Uptown campus.

The annual event shines a spotlight on those who contributed hours and effort toward caring for the Veterans who receive health care at VA Augusta’s two hospitals and three clinics. Volunteers donate time through VA Augusta’s Voluntary Service. Volunteers serve in posts across the medical center in areas of patient care, support, and more.

Barbara Glover was named Volunteer of the Year. Glover has been volunteering at the Charlie Norwood VA Medical Center since 1971 accumulating over 2,200 hours of service at both hospitals, the Fisher House, and Parkway Place. Since 2001, Glover served as a Veterans Affairs Voluntary Service representative for the Veterans Foreign Wars Auxiliary.

“Barbara feels especially passionate about assisting our Veterans in any way possible. She goes above and beyond in fulfilling their role as Fisher House ambassador.  Even when she’s not feeling well, she always delivers on their promise to get us what we need,” said Bob Frasier, Voluntary Service chief. “Her dedication, commitment, and willingness to give back is remarkable. She is truly an original and we are most fortunate to have her on our team!”

The following people also received honors during the event:

100-Hour Awards - Joseph Arrington, Wesley Ashley, Jane Autrey, Jan E. Barlow, Karla Barricklow, Phoebe Bell, Patricia Bible, Charles Borup, Deborah Bozeman, Ranette Brill, Peggy Broadwater, Jacqueline B. Brown, Ketrell Brown, Dennis Bryan, Kenneth Burkman, Kevin Byrd, Tanjanika Carter, Tanya Carter, Amonty Cochran, James Collins, Amanda Connor, Frank Conoly, Amanda Dehil, Raven Dickey, Spencer Dixon, Annette Dotts, Dexter Durrante, Bruce Early, Thales Elliott, Juanita Gilchrist, James Givens, Harry Graham, Lionel Grant, Hannah Gullickson, Rosa Griffin, Ralph Gunter, William Harrigan, Jeffery Hill, Annissia Hilliard, Robert Horwitz, Douglas Howard, Edmark Jeffery , Danny Jones, Bruce Joyner, Marie Kostovick, Mark Karmin, David Kriegel, Ruby Krucina, Michael Kulikowski, Hakima B. Laourai, Angela Lawrence,  Phillip Lewis, Kimberly Malone, Bonnie Martin, Linda McCallum, Margie McCallum, Annette B. McElderry, Susan R. McMillian, Jenniffer Melendez Andrade, Michael Mercier, Fredicia Miles,  Robert Morgan, Jenneff Morris, Robert Neal, Tiffany T. Nicholson, Dixie Norris, Alex Phillips, Felicia Ponder, Linda J. Price, Amanda Richardson, Tom A. Richardson, Brittany Robinson, Sarah Rutledge, Rachel Sawyer, Daisy Scott, Edward Shepherd, Elvin Skidmore, Josephine Smith, Louise Smith, William Smith, Richard Swift, Diane Taylor, Sufeng Sophia Tian, Edward P. Vanderhoff, Tony Vannoy, Gussie Walker, Ann Waring, Kinya G. Warren, Steven Weiser,  Sonya West, Arnold Wilde, Bietrich Williams, Eddie Williams, and Christopher Wise.

300-Hour Awards - Sarah Altantawi, Timothy Armstrong, Tyler Apparicio, Earl Bennett, Whitney Biggs, James Blair, Robert Bledsoe, Bennie Bobo, Dixie Bralley, Earl Eubanks, Victor Gagliano,
June H. Glover, Robert Grant, Karen Hall-Pralour, Keith S. Howell, Weldon Humphrey, George  Jackson, Nathan Jacobs, Vicki Jankovich, Diana McDaniels, Michael McDaniels, William Pevey, Jeanette Saxon, Russell Schaublin, Walter Sims, Palacestine Tabson, Frederick Tyson, George Watson, and Ollie Weeks.

500-Hour Awards - Robert Allen, James Archibald, Michael Ball, Bob Barnett, Janice Beckman, Alyssa Bolno, Sandra Bowens, Linda D. Bowes, Peter Buttrick, Gary Coulter, Clark Dimery, Onie Downs, Dunell Franklin, Terry Greenfield, Aaron Humphries, Jimmie Inglett, Shamir Lawrence, Timothy McCarthy, Shirley Nicholas, Tammy Phillips, Chris Ross, Dennis Simonson, Edward Simpson, Matthew Sims, Steve Smith, Robert Taylor, Dave Toole, Roy Wahrmund, Reginald White, and Ayanna Woodliff.

750-Hour Awards - Gloria Bean, John Bombard, Michael Coleman, Jacquelyn Corley, Glenn Ervin, Mark Hardy, Willie Holt, Brian Marks, William Martin, Darlene Kennedy, Larry McCarty, Dana Reeves, Gary Schuster, and Mitchel Shaw. 

1,000-hour Awards - Deborah Brickhouse-Donahue, Florence Creasy, Willie Davis,  Rochelle Douglas, Edward Ealy, Diane Grant-Jenkins, Irene Hackley, Raymond Huffine, Caroline Jackson, Leontine Johnson, Delores Lewis, Rudolph Lewis, Robert Makarski, Paul  Morgan, Richard Morrow, Donald Preston, Ray Silverstein, Clessie Simmons, Samuel Smith, Linda Smiley, Betsy Stribling, and Nora Williams.        

1,750-Hour Awards - Wayne Canaday, Elaine Collins, Ray Damato, Betty Durshimer, Barbara Glover and Robert C. Spann.

2,500-Hour Awards - Harold Anderson, Willie Emma Brown, John Hartley, Jean Johnson, Debbie Joyner, Johnnie Kelly, and Jesse Smith

3,750-Hour Awards - Alphonso Evans, Willie Jackson, Alfred Mitchell, and Charles Worley.

4,000-Hour Award/Presidential Lifetime Achievement - C.D. Hagen.

6,250-Hour Awards - Lillie Anthony and Gregory Knight.

7,500-Hour Award - Jesse Luke.

10,000-Hour Award - Edwin Thompkins.

17,500-Hour Award - Brenda Youmans.

Hours and Years -- James Biwer, James Brown, Juanita Brown, William Burnett, Kenneth Campbell, Fred Chapman, Denis Cote, Grace Craddock, George Ellis, Karl Fields, William Garrett, William Harris, Karenan Hawley, Heidi Hayes, Jane Hunt, James Johnson, Richard Johnson, Alfonso Mayers, Patricia Nelson, Gladys Norman, Joe Lewis Norman, Irene Novotny, Philip Novotny, Leonard Palguta, Brian Peters, Ernest Pruett, Charles Riggin Jr.,  Robert Schultz, Steven Shelt, Miriam Stein, Percy Sundstrom, Barbara Swint, Freddie Swint, William J. Williams, and Alfredo Zamora.

People who want to volunteer with the VA should call 706-733-0188, press 1 and dial exts. 3022 or 5959.